Big Apple, Big Easy, Big Slacker

I’ve been slacking. Yep. Sorry about it.

Recently I have been traveling like crazy and it’s been great! From my home in Baltimore, I went to New York City two weekends, one with my mom to see the show Wicked, and one with my friends, I ran in Washington DC’s Marine Corps Marathon, traveled to Sonoma, California for work and finished up in New Orleans for my cousins wedding! I had been everywhere I went except New Orleans but all brought new experiences and adventure!

New York brought the show Wicked and exploring the city with my mom. Now being roughly three hours from the Big Apple, I’ve made the trip to the city quite frequently, but mom hadn’t been since my 10th grade year of High School- 8 years ago! We had a blast maneuvering the busy streets of New York visiting my cousin Alex in West New York, chelsea market, times square, rockafeller center, ground zero, and  best of all- the show Wicked, which was so amazing.

The second New York trip allowed me to explore with two great friends Steph and Lane. We explored and laughed so much, and obviously took tons of photos. We went to the famous Carlo’s Bake Shop in Hoboken, and hit the town that night as well.

DC brought on a new challenge for me. Running 26.2 miles is something I had never done before. The freezing morning woke me up early, but I was anxious! It was such a blast being a part of a marathon, especially one as large as the Marine Corps. My cheering crew consisted of Mom and Jordan, but I saw many of my friends along the route! I don’t know how I could have finished without Katy Burns, who helped me finish the last three miles by walking out the cramps and knots in my legs, but still, an exhilarating and accomplished feeling.

Then I packed my bags for a trip to California for work. My company has been making some great progress with our office and work in California and it’s been such a blessing to play such a big part of it. I hadn’t been back since June so this trip was pack full of jumping back into the Sonoma work and getting content for our clients!

After spending less than 10 hours at home, I got back on a plane for New Orleans. My extended family made the trip to The Big Easy, for my cousin Ryan’s wedding. Not only was it in French Quarter of New Orleans, but it was in Jackson Square, at the St. Louis Cathedral. And between the ceremony and the reception, we paraded and danced to a band through the streets to the reception. Can you say, awesome? The trip wasn’t complete without lots of jazz, dancing, cemeteries, checking out bourbon street, magazine street, royal street and more!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment